Joseph J. Sprague Award

The Joseph J. Sprague Award was created in 2005 to honor the memory of Joseph J. Sprague. Joe was a very fine golfer, having participated in the Northeast Amateur 5 times. Joe was the Executive Director of the RI Golf Association for nearly 20 years, expanding the association and improving the level of statewide competition. Joe was a very traditional man who was a fine coach, teacher and player.

Because of Joe's traditional views of golf and how much he respected and appreciated the amateur status of the game, the Joseph J. Sprague Award will be given to the low mid-amateur in the tournament.

Award Recipients

  • 2016 Brad Valois
  • 2015 Matt Parziale
  • 2014 Scott Harvey
  • 2013 Todd White
  • 2012 Tim Jackson
  • 2011 Tim Jackson
  • 2010 Todd White
  • 2009 Nathan T. Smith
  • 2008 Nathan T. Smith
  • 2007 Carlton Forrester
  • 2006 Carlton Forrester
  • 2005 Tim Jackson